Amepa - S-UBG
string(8) "center %"

Amepa

HIDDEN CHAMPION STRENGTHENS ITS MARKET POSITION AND EXPANDS ITS SALES ORGANISATION

As part of a reorganisation of the shareholder structure, S-UBG AG and NRW.BANK become investors in Würselen-based AMEPA. The founders Dr Edmund Julius and Wolfgang Theissen remain co-shareholders. Martin Fieweger, excutive Director of AMEPA, says: “With the help of the investment and the strategic support from S-UBG and NRW.BANK, we have now created a good basis for further growth.”

The product range of the manufacturer of measurement and process automation systems for the steel, aluminium and automotive industries is divided into two main fields of application: the monitoring of liquid steel using electromagnetic and thermographic early slag detection systems, which are used in steelworks for quality monitoring, and the monitoring of surface parameters, for example in vehicle sheet metal in automotive production.

The steel market has undergone a phase of consolidation over the past decade – recent examples include mergers between large steel producers – and is recognised as fierce competition. “Due to excess capacity and strong competition from China, where 50 per cent of the world’s steel is now produced, manufacturers are now under pressure to focus more on quality. This is also reflected in increased demand for our systems,” says Fieweger. “Furthermore, we want exploit more the market opportunities in the new business area of measuring surface parameters and will also focus our corporate strategy on pusching forward innovations in this area and further expanding our sales organisation.”

AMEPA was founded in 1984 by Prof. Franz-Rudolf Block, Dr Edmund Julius and Dipl.-Ing. Wolfgang Theissen as a spin-off of the Institute of Ferrous Metallurgy at RWTH Aachen University with the aim of realising innovative measurement technology for the steel industry. The company has now been very successful on the market for over 30 years, has expanded its product portfolio to other industries and is also very well positioned internationally with two subsidiaries in Cleveland, USA, and Shanghai, China, and sales partners worldwide. Almost 80 employees currently are working at the company headquarters in Würselen.

// no layouts found

Amepa - S-UBG
string(8) "center %"

Amepa

HIDDEN CHAMPION STÄRKT DIE MARKPOSITION UND AUSBAU DES VERTRIEBS

Im Zuge einer Neuordnung des Gesellschafterkreises steigen die S-UBG AG und die NRW.BANK als Investoren in die AMEPA aus Würselen ein. Mitgesellschafter sind weiterhin die Gründer Dr. Edmund Julius und Wolfgang Theissen. Martin Fieweger, Geschäftsführer der AMEPA, sagt: „Mit Hilfe der Beteiligung und der strategischen Begleitung durch die S-UBG und NRW.BANK haben wir nun eine gute Basis für weiteres Wachstum geschaffen.“

Das Produktspektrum des Herstellers von Mess- und Prozessautomatisierungssystemen für die Stahl, Aluminium- und Automobilindustrie teilt sich in zwei Hauptanwendungsfelder: die Überwachung von flüssigem Stahl durch elektromagnetische und thermografische Schlackenfrüherkennungssysteme, die in Stahlwerken zur Qualitätsüberwachung eingesetzt werden, sowie die Überwachung von Oberflächenparametern beispielsweise bei Fahrzeugblechen in der Automobilproduktion.

Der Stahlmarkt hat im vergangenen Jahrzehnt eine Phase der Konsolidierung durchlaufen – aktuelle Beispiele sind Fusionen großer Stahlproduzenten – und zeichnet sich durch einen harten Wettbewerb aus. „Durch Überkapazitäten und die starke Konkurrenz aus China, wo heute 50 Prozent des weltweiten Stahls hergestellt werden, stehen Hersteller heute unter dem Druck, vermehrt auf Qualität zu setzen. Das zeigt sich auch in einer erhöhten Nachfrage nach unseren Systemen“, so Fieweger. „Des Weiteren wollen wir die Marktchancen im neuen Geschäftsbereich der Messung von Oberflächenparametern weiter ausschöpfen und werden unsere Unternehmensstrategie auch darauf ausrichten, Innovationen in diesem Bereich voranzutreiben und unseren Vertrieb weiter auszubauen.“

Gegründet wurde AMEPA 1984 von Prof. Franz-Rudolf Block, Dr. Edmund Julius und Dipl.-Ing. Wolfgang Theissen als Spin-off des Instituts für Eisenhüttenkunde der RWTH Aachen mit dem Ziel, innovative Messtechnik für die Stahlindustrie zu realisieren. Inzwischen ist das Unternehmen seit über 30 Jahren sehr erfolgreich am Markt, hat sein Produktportfolio auf weitere Branchen ausgeweitet und ist mit zwei Tochtergesellschaften in Cleveland, USA, und Shanghai, China und Vertriebspartnern weltweit auch international sehr gut aufgestellt. Am Firmensitz in Würselen sind derzeit knapp 80 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter beschäftigt.

// no layouts found